“The Lover in My Dreams” (夢の中の恋人) A track from 40mP’s Shintai Sokutei

Exit_tunes_presents_40mPSo I generally rotate the CDs I listen on my drive to and from campus every couple of days. For the past few I’ve found myself jammin’ to KEI’s “Dialogue” and 40mP’s “Shintai Sokutei” over and over. Today I translated my favorite song from the Dialogue album, “I Love You, I Need You” over on youtube, and I decided to do the same today with one of the great songs from 40mP’s album that does not yet have a PV. Unfortunately I cannot share “The Lover in My Dreams/Yume no naka no koibito” with everyone but I figure that many other 40mP fans who own the album like I do would enjoy the lyrics to this sad but beautiful song. After following the lyrics you’ll see why I consider this to be the closest thing to Vocaloid “Inception” that you’ll find.

Buy KEI’s Dialogue on Amazon

Buy 40mP’s Shintai Sokutei on Amazon

夢の中の恋人 / Yume no naka no koibito

“The Lover in My Dreams”

Music/Lyrics by 40mP

最近よく見る夢の中に君によく似た人が出るよ

Recently I’ve been having dreams of a person who looks a lot like you

Saikin yoku miru yume no naka ni kimi ni yoku nita hito ga deru yo

だけどそれは君ではなくて   君によく似た誰かなんだ

But that person most certainly isn’t you, it’s just someone with an uncanny resemblance…

Dakedo sore ha kimi de wa nakute, kimi ni yoku nita dareka nanda

僕は君のことなんて誕生日くらいしか知らない

Your birthday is just about the only thing I know about you

Boku wa kimi no koto nante tanjoubi kurai shika shiranai

僕の中に君が居る  そんなわけないって分かってる

So I know the reason isn’t something like “You exist within my heart”

Boku no naka ni kimi ga iru, sonna wake nai tte wakatteru

夢で会えたその人は君みたいに不器用で

The person I meet in my dreams is as awkward as you,

Yume de aeta sono hito wa kimi mitai ni bukiyou de

嘘をつくことでさえもヘタクソすぎるから

Since they’re also completely hopeless even when it comes to lying

Uso wo tsuku koto de sae mo hetakuso sugiru kara

僕は君にするように優しく抱きしめてみたけど

Trying to turn them into you, I gently tried to pull them close,

Boku wa kimi ni suru you ni yasashiku dakishimete mita kedo

もう夢は終わってた

But my dream was already coming to an end

Mou yume wa owatteta

最近よく見る夢の中で君によく似た人が言うよ

Recently in those dreams of mine, that person who looks like you has been saying:

Saikin yoku miru yume no naka de kimi ni yoku nita hito ga iu yo

[優しさだけの優しさなら、誰も幸せにはできない]

“If it’s just kindness for kindness sake, no one could be happy like that”

Yasashisa dake no yasashisa nara, daremo shiawase ni wa dekinai

僕は君のことなんてフレネームくらいしか知らない

Your full name is just about the only thing I know about you

Boku wa kimi no koto nante furuneemu kurai shika shiranai

完璧な愛情なんて そんなものないって分かってる

That this isn’t really a “perfect love”…I understand that

Kanpeki na aijou nante sonna mono nai tte wakatteru

夢で会えたその人は君みたいに優しくて

The person I meet in my dreams is kind like you

Yume de aeta sono hito wa kimi mitai ni yasashikute

震える僕のココロを癒してくれるから

Since they help sooth my trembling heart,

Furueru boku no kokoro wo iyashite kureru kara

僕は君にするように優しく口づけてみたけど

Trying to turn them into you, I gently tried to kiss them,

Boku wa kimi ni suru you ni yasashikute kuchizukete mita kedo

もう夢は終わってた

But my dream was already ending

Mou yume wa owatteta

夢で会えたその人は君みたいに不器用で

The person I meet in my dreams is as awkward as you,

Yume de aeta sono hito wa kimi mitai ni bukiyou de

嘘をつくことでさえもヘタクソすぎるから

Since they’re also completely hopeless even when it comes to lying

Uso wo tsuku koto de sae mo hetakuso sugiru kara

僕は君にするように優しく抱きしめてみたけど

Trying to turn them into you, I gently tried to pull them close,

Boku wa kimi ni suru you ni yasashiku dakishimete mita kedo

もう夢は終わってた

But my dream was already coming to an end

Mou yume wa owatteta

夢から覚めたその時  僕ははじめて気づいた

At the moment when I opened my eyes, I realized it for the first time

Yume kara sameta sono toki, boku wa hajimete kizuita

傍に居る君にあって  あの人にないもの

You who are right here next to me, all the ways you are different than him

Soba ni iru kimi ni atte, ano hito ni nai mono

僕は君のその肩を優しく抱きしめてみたけど

Though I gently try to wrap my arms around those shoulders of yours,

Boku wa kimi no sono kata wo yasashiku dakishimete mita kedo

それは君じゃなくて 気がつけば夢の中

It’s not you who is there I realize, while I’m still stuck in that dream of mine…

Sore wa kimi janakute, ki ga tsukeba yume no naka

This entry was posted in Albums and Items, Vocaloid Song Translation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “The Lover in My Dreams” (夢の中の恋人) A track from 40mP’s Shintai Sokutei

  1. Fan says:

    The second episode of Team Kamiuta’s New Testament is out since June 01, 2013. Any plans for a sub?

  2. Alfin says:

    hi Descent87, I just found that i really love “dialogue” first traclist song from KEI’s “Dialogue” (album).. but too bad i cant find any romaji and translation lyrics for it 😦

    could you please be kind to help me ? [considering i cant really read kanji :'(]
    thanks 😀

Leave a comment