40mP’s “17cm” Translation

Exit_tunes_presents_40mPI recently got a translation request for one of the shorter songs from 40mP’s “Shintai Sokutei” (Info and Purchase info here, SUPER RECOMMENDED, I own it). So I think I’ll provide the info here. The lyrics are supposed to be much more symbolic and touching than literal (since the literal is partially nonsensical) but I will do what I can and leave the rest to your hearts and imaginations. So cute…

17cmのふたりの身長差

Juunana senchi no futari no shinchousa

背伸びをしてもほんのちょっと届かない

Senobi wo shitemo hon no chotto todokani

The difference in height between us is 17cm (~7 inches)

Even if I stand on my tiptoes, I’m just barely unable to reach

胸を焦がすような口づけがあれば

Mune wo kogasu youna kuchizuke ga areba

いつもより小さなあなたに会えた

Itsumo yori chiisana anata ni aeta

But whenever we share a much longed after kiss,

I am able to meet a shorter version of you

(exp. This is probably implying that the girl feels closer and more connected the one she loves when they kiss)

17cmのふたりの身長差

Juunana senchi no futari no shinchousa

間にあるのはたくさんの笑顔

Aida ni aru no wa takusan no egao

The difference in height between us is 17cm (~7 inches)

The distance in between is filled with lots of smiles and laughter

頬を染めるような口づけのあとは

Hoho wo someru youna kuchizuke no ato wa

いつもより大きな私になれた

Itsumoyori ookina watashi ni nareta

After our blushing faces share a kiss

I am able to become a bigger version of me

(exp. once again this is my interpretation, but it is probably imply that her love and lover help give her confidence, hope, reassurance, and feel more capable)

This entry was posted in Albums and Items, Vocaloid Song Translation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

